top of page

Lunar Rituals, Astrological signs and their Elements

Our beloved Lunar Rituals at HOA were created to introduce to the community new ways to routinely check in with themselves, to tune into subtle energies influenced by celestial activity, and to transmute them into empowered change. It’s a form of spiritual Self-Care. You may have noticed that apart from the Lunar phase, we also pay close attention to the astrological constellation the Moon is currently positioned in. Each astrological sign lends its particular flavour to the Lunar Ritual and the crystal selected. But have you wondered why, for example, the Full Moon in Virgo may urge us to reconsider our boundaries, or why the New Moon in Scorpio may call us to do some shadow work?

Before we answer these questions, we must first consider the ancient thinkers that pondered the mysteries of our existence. "As above, so below. As within, so without.” They found that the Cosmos are a reflection of our selves — and vice versa. They looked to the sky, and found there's a map to help us traverse our inner worlds.

The astrological cycle presents an evolutionary blueprint for our Soul. Each of the 12 astrological constellations that make up the cycle - Pisces, Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn and Aquarius - is associated with its own symbolism of ideas. As the wheel turns and we go through each zodiac, we integrate its concepts and lessons and emerge from each cycle having grown a bit more than before.

There are Four elements in the traditional study of Astrology: Earth, Water, Fire, and Air. Each element rules three signs as such:

  • Capricorn, Taurus & Virgo are Earth signs

  • Pisces, Cancer & Scorpio are Water signs

  • Aries, Leo & Sagittarius are Fire signs

  • Aquarius, Gemini & Libra are Air signs

Each element in turn corresponds to a different aspect of our of Being. Earth relates to our physical body, and governs our health, security and comfort. Water relates to our emotional body, and governs our intuition, surrender and spirituality. Air corresponds to our intellect, and governs our interpersonal communication, perception and community. Fire corresponds to our passion, and governs our willpower, sense of purpose and expansion.

The celestial bodies are also symbolic. Sun corresponds to our Yang (masculine) side, which rules our conscious mind, whereas the Moon — Yin (feminine) side — is linked to our subconscious. During a Lunar Ritual, we are accessing the aspect of our subconscious that is represented by the astrological sign — for example, during the New Moon in Taurus (Earth), we can examine subconscious fears surrounding our physical health, whereas the Full Moon in Gemini (Air) is a suitable time to get rid of any cognitive biases.

You can also choose to work directly with the element aside from what they represent. For example, on the Gemini Full Moon you may choose to release stagnant energy by incorporating sacred smoke in your ceremony, but at a later season you may choose to repeat the same ceremony with a bonfire during the Leo Full Moon. On the other hand, if you’re feeling burnt out from your creative pursuits, you may balance out the energies with an opposing or complementary element — in this case with a refreshing dip in the sea, perhaps. When the elements are not accessible to us, crystals can be used to symbolise them. Yes! Crystals also resonate with the elements. The elements present a simple, intuitive way for us to find balance in our lives.

By referring to astrological symbology, we aren't simply letting the stars determine our fates. Rather, we are tapping into a wisdom that our ancestors charted against the stars, to create an efficient system of Self-Inquiry relevant to our existence today. This is the basis of which HOA builds our rituals upon. To know yourself, is to know your place amongst the stars.

Written by Izzy Liyana, content creator & writer for HOA


bottom of page